Nurse in New Zealand: Wairarapa

To the south of Mount Bruce nurses, doctors and surgeons will find the Wellington Region containing the Masterton, Carterton and South Wairarapa Districts It is separated from Upper Hutt and Lower Hutt cities by the Rimutaka Ranges.

The district’s northern borders overlap with southern Hawke’s Bay. Woodville is often considered to be the northern-most settlement of the region.

The area from Mt Bruce north, extending through Eketahuna, Pahiatua, Woodville, Dannevirke, to just north of Norsewood is part of the Tararua District and is in the Manawatu-Wanganui region, because it is in the catchment of the headwaters of the Manawatu River. The river runs westward between the two mountain ranges (Tararua Range to the south and Ruahine Range to the north) via the Manawatu Gorge, to pass through Palmerston North and reach the west coast of the North Island.

The east coast contains settlements such as Tinui, Castlepoint, and Riversdale Beach, while the main southern rivers drain through or past Lake Wairarapa to discharge into Palliser Bay east of Cook Strait.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email